Brunch · Eggs · Kimchi

Garlic & Kimchi Frittata

DSC_4983

If you haven’t heard of kimchi yet, please look into it.

Seriously.

Kimchi is a traditional fermented Korean side dish made of vegetables with a variety of seasonings. In traditional preparation, kimchi was stored underground in jars to keep cool during the summer months and unfrozen during the winter months. There are hundres of varieties of kimchi made from napa cabbage, radish, scallion or cucumber as a main ingredient.

That’s straight from Wikipedia, and it’s literally as it sounds. Have you ever had sauerkraut? That stuff is fermented, too (so don’t freak out yet if you think you can’t handle fermented foods – more on that later).

I had whipped up an approximate half gallon batch of kimchi a few weeks ago, and I’ve been finding creative ways to include it in our (S and mine – hubby still turns his nose up at my ferments.. pfft!). It’s been fun trying different ways to incorporate this probiotic rich ferment, as it’s SO versatile. I have it with, honestly, everything. It goes with eggs, potatoes, rice, in soup, in salads or even on its own! Mix it up with fresh bean or alfalfa sprouts and some sesame seeds and you have a very tasty side dish.

I don’t even eat kimchi with Korean dishes. Stew? Kimchi. Toast? Kimchi. I just like to get it in me however I can and as often as I can.

ANYWAYS. Distractions. Kimchi.

To start, I finely chopped three cloves of garlic. While I did that, I melted a tablespoon (maybe a tablespoon or two… when I’m quickly fixing breakfast/brunch for S and me I don’t exactly “measure”. Hehe) in a skillet over low/medium heat. Into the sizzling butter went the small niblets of garlic, and incoincidentally the smell of heaven began wafting throughout the kitchen… Odd how that happens when garlic and butter meet.

Anywho!

I added some ham I had chopped earlier into the skillet with the garlic and butter, and cooked till the garlic JUST starts to turn a darker shade. Don’t burn the garlic. Unless you like the horrible taste of bitter in your mouth, of course ;). While the ham thoroughly heated through, I beat together 5 eggs with a few tablespoons of whole milk, plus salt and pepper. It’s a good idea to pre-heat your broiler at this point (you’ll be finishing the frattata in the oven!). Pour the eggs into the skillet, and cook until the sides have set, approximately 6 to 8 minutes. Before this happened I added about half a cup of my homemade kimchi and some alfalfa sprouts I harvested yesterday.

If you so desire, before putting the skillet under the pre-heated broiler, you can add any type of cheese, slices of fresh tomatoes, basil, or basically any topping you would like. This frattata was very simple as S wanted to get outside as quick as possible and turns out toddlers have little to no patience (who knew?!). After adding your desired add-ons, stick the skillet under the broiler for a few minutes, until the center of the eggs are set. Drizzle a bit of infused olive oil on top of your frittata, and you’re done.

Voila.

I served this with a bit of sour cream and sauerkraut. Use anything you’d like; next time I do a frittata I’m going to cook (and probably eat most of it) a pound of bacon. That way I can brumble a bit onto the top before going under the broiler.

YUM.

Please get at me if you’d like a more detailed recipe. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

